The Downtown Library has several Amarillo newspapers available on microfilm. Their names and dates of coverage follow:
Annual indices of names, events, and organizations are available and can be used to help pinpoint which microfilm rolls will be of interest for a particular research topic.
Online access to a subset of these Amarillo newspapers as well as many other newspapers in Texas and the United States is available through the databases that follow:
Newspapers.com Texas Edition is a focused tool for local history, Texas genealogy, and classroom research. Covering more than 200 Texas newspaper titles spanning 1842 to 2024, researchers can search or browse newspaper articles by date and location, zoom high resolution pages, make and share clippings, download PDFs, and attach clippings to Ancestry.com trees.
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Researchers can find more than one million searchable digitized newspapers, magazines, books, and photographs spanning 220 years of Texas' history.
The Library of Congress' Chronicling America is a searchable and freely accessible digital collection of historic newspaper pages. It contains millions of newspaper pages from nearly every state and territory in the United States published from 1736 through 1963. The website also provides access to the U.S. Newspaper Directory, which contains information about American newspapers published from 1690 to present.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The Gateway to Oklahoma History is an online repository of Oklahoma history, brought to you by the Oklahoma Historical Society (OHS). Visitors can search, view, and download thousands of historic newspapers, publications, photographs, maps, and documents. Scroll down on the Gateway's homepage to view a tutorial video detailing how to search and download content.