CloudLibrary™ lets you borrow titles from our collection of more than 300,000 eBooks and eAudiobooks. Simply log in with your library card, browse our collection, and start reading or listening on your phone, tablet, eReader, or computer. You can even place holds and download titles for offline access. Parents can activate Kids Mode in the app to ensure that titles available for their children will be relevant to their interests and suitable for their reading level. CloudLibrary™ can be downloaded from the app stores for Apple, Android, or Kindle Fire devices. To use CloudLibrary™ on an e-ink device, there are two options. First, you can install CloudLibrary™ if your device runs Android and allows you to access the Google Play store. Second, you can sideload eBooks from CloudLibrary™ to your device by following the instructions found here.
Use Boundless to access E-Read Texas' collection of 20,000 eBooks and eAudiobooks. Provided by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, Boundless can be downloaded from the app stores for Apple, Android, or Kindle Fire devices.
Gale Presents: National Geographic Kids stimulates students’ curiosity through immersive content that is designed for exploration. This resource provides full issues of National Geographic Kids magazine as well as National Geographic Kids books, videos, and images—all with Gale’s trusted built-in tools—on a student-friendly platform to make learning more accessible. With its high-quality informational texts, fun features, and weird and wacky facts, this resource engages students across primary, upper-elementary, and middle school grades.
Comics Plus for Children offers a collection of comics, graphic novels, and manga selected with children in mind. Offering a wide range of titles, this service has no waiting lists or due dates. Read in your web browser or on phones and tablets with the app, which can be downloaded from the Apple and Android app stores.
TumbleBooks Library is a collection of more than 1,100 animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which children can read, or have read to them. TumbleBooks also includes graphic novels, read-along chapter books, nonfiction titles, videos, and games. Users can access TumbleBooks using their computer’s browser as well as their phone or tablet via the app, which is available on both the iOS and Android app stores. Usage is unlimited, meaning kids can read as much as they want, when they want, with no wait times, check-outs, or long downloads!
Miss Humblebee’s Academy is a fun, interactive, and award-winning, online kindergarten-readiness learning solution for children ages 3 to 6. With hundreds of lessons in math, science and social studies, language and literacy, art, and music, the curriculum increases in difficulty as the user progresses through the program. Miss Humblebee’s Academy assesses cognitive skills at regular intervals for measurable improvement toward kindergarten readiness and offers a developmental observation checklist allowing parents to review and record social and emotional growth as an additional condition of preparedness. Parents can track their child’s learning outcomes through weekly progress reports that are emailed and available online 24/7. Miss Humblebee’s Academy can be accessed at the library, home, or on-the-go via smart phones, iPads, and tablets. Approximately twenty percent of the curriculum is available offline as printables and practice worksheets.
ABCmouse's award-winning curriculum is designed to help children ages 2 to 8 build a strong foundation for future academic success. Its content is 100% education, with more than 10,000 interactive books, educational games, puzzles, and other learning activities. ABCmouse covers all major subject areas including reading, math, science, social studies, art, and music.
PBS Kids offers high-quality educational games and videos based on beloved shows like Arthur, Wild Kratts, and Daniel Tiger's Neighborhood. Designed to spark curiosity and learning, this free, safe platform emphasizes early education, science, literacy, social-emotional skills, and critical thinking.
Inspired by the animated series, this site engages preschoolers in science and discovery. It provides simple yet fun activities, games, videos, and family-friendly experiments designed to nurture curiosity about the natural world, and it helps children explore basic science concepts through appealing, hands-on experiences.
Sesame Street’s website brings popular characters like Elmo, Cookie Monster, and Big Bird to life through games, videos, stories, and activities. This educational platform emphasizes early childhood development with a focus on literacy, numeracy, emotional learning, social skills, and creativity.
Nick offers a colorful digital playground where kids can enjoy games and videos featuring their favorite Nickelodeon characters. Engaging and fun, this platform provides creative entertainment, immersive adventures, and enjoyable content from popular shows like SpongeBob, Loud House, and Henry Danger.
Designed for younger viewers, Nick Jr. features interactive games, engaging videos, and activities starring preschool favorites like Paw Patrol, Peppa Pig, and Blue's Clues. Educational, safe, and entertaining, Nick Jr. focuses on early learning and helps young children develop critical literacy, numeracy, and problem-solving skills.
Texas Beyond History Kids explores Texas history through interactive games, virtual tours, and storytelling. Specifically created for young learners, it highlights archaeology, culture, and historical artifacts from Texas’ past, allowing children to understand history through hands-on digital experiences and fascinating narratives about early Texas life. A special section for teachers provides unit and lesson plans incorporating Texas' history.
Offering energizing videos and activities designed for kids, GoNoodle promotes physical activity, wellness, and emotional health by helping kids stay active and focused using music, dance, yoga, and stress-reduction exercises.
Based on Highlights magazine, this interactive site offers puzzles, games, crafts, jokes, and stories. Highlights Kids provides safe, entertaining content that encourages children to explore, play, and develop problem-solving skills in a nurturing environment.
Explore spooky tales and fascinating legends from the American South. Perfect for kids intrigued by mysteries and folklore, this site offers a captivating collection of ghost stories, myths, and legends with eerie narration and engaging visuals.
Coolmath4Kids is dedicated to helping kids enjoy and master math. It offers games, quizzes, and lessons that simplify addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, fractions, and more. Its playful approach makes math engaging and builds students’ confidence in their math skills.
Rodocodo introduces kids to computer coding through interactive games. As part of the Hour of Code initiative, the site makes programming accessible, fun, and intuitive. Rodocodo is an ideal resource for beginners and encourages logical thinking, problem-solving, and the development of basic coding skills.
Funbrain combines learning and fun through engaging games, digital books, comics, and videos designed for children from preschool through eighth grade. Covering topics like math, reading, and problem-solving, Funbrain encourages play and keeps kids entertained while supporting their academic growth.
ABCYa! offers entertaining, educational games for kids from preschool through sixth grade. Aligned with common core standards, the site features activities that enhance math, language, creativity, and problem-solving skills. It's colorful, user-friendly, and ideal for young learners seeking engaging digital content at home or school.
Starfall Education is an early learning resource that helps young children build reading and math skills through interactive games, songs, and engaging animations. Ideal for preschoolers through early elementary, its appealing content develops foundational skills essential for classroom readiness and lifelong learning.
Code.org Studio offers a wide array of free coding lessons and tutorials designed to introduce kids to computer science. Its interactive, game-based curriculum promotes logical reasoning, creativity, and problem-solving skills. It provides foundational coding knowledge and supports computer literacy for students of all skill levels.
The Access Video On Demand: Just For Kids streaming video collection is designed to entertain, educate, and inspire young learners. Featuring more than 11,700 carefully vetted videos, songs, and games from acclaimed producers like PBS Kids, LeVar Burton Kids, Weston Woods, and Nelvana, this ad-free, mobile-friendly platform ensures a safe and enjoyable viewing experience. It is an Ideal resource for family entertainment, homeschooling, elementary classrooms, homework assistance, and ESL/ELL support. The collection also includes popular series such as Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood, Sesame Street, Wild Kratts, and Reading Rainbow. Its video content covers a broad range of subjects including reading, math, science, arts, history, and world languages. Lastly, the platform grants users unlimited access, complete with public performance rights, so children and their families can explore and learn anywhere and anytime.
Britannica School is a specially designed encyclopedia that offers three different user interfaces and corresponding levels of information for elementary, middle, and high school students. Students can find thousands of curated and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended websites.
Designed for kids, Gale In Context: Elementary delivers trusted, age-appropriate digital content. Through newspaper and magazine articles, videos, images, graphics, and eBooks, elementary students can learn about everything from animals and outer space to famous artists and favorite athletes. The resource is visual and intuitive, and rewards students’ efforts by developing comprehension and research skills to prepare them for middle school—and a lifetime of learning.
Educate Station offers a free homeschool curriculum for children in prekindergarten through fifth grade. Created by experienced U.S.-based educators, its curriculum provides a full 35-week sequence of printable weekly packets containing learning plans, worksheets, exercises, and activities. Homeschoolers can follow the recommended week-by-week learning plan or search for specific lessons and resources by grade, subject, keyword, or learning standard. The My Classroom feature provides a space to save and organize materials. Educate Station's core subjects include English language arts, math, science, social studies, and social-emotional learning. Resources are aligned to Common Core State Standards (CCSS), Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS), National Council for Social Studies Standards (NCSS), and the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL) framework.
National Geographic Education provides access to articles, images, videos, and interactive materials perfect for young explorers. Covering wildlife, geography, science, history, and environmental conservation, this resource inspires curiosity about our planet and encourages kids to learn about global issues through exciting and informative multimedia content.
With practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard, Khan Academy empowers learners to study at their own pace, both in and out of the classroom. Covering subjects from kindergarten through early college, including math, science, reading, computing, history, art history, economics, financial literacy, SAT, MCAT, and more, Khan Academy focuses on skill mastery to help learners build the strong foundations they need to succeed in higher education and in their careers.
The Flag and State Encyclopedia is a comprehensive database of more than 3,500 flags. It provides current and historical information about countries, states, colonies and and their related flags. Written in both English and German, each entry contains additional details about geography, history, and coats of arms that relate to its flag. Users can browse nations and states by alphabetical list, or they can access the site’s visual search engine, The Flag Finder, which lets them search for flags by geometric features and colors.
The KultureCity® app promotes accessibility for individuals with sensory needs. Offering a directory of over 3,000 Sensory Inclusive™ certified venues, including the Southwest Branch Library, it helps users easily find sensory-friendly event venues both locally and when traveling. The app also features Koji, an AI-powered communication tool designed for individuals who are nonspeaking, minimally speaking, or face speech challenges due to neurological conditions. Koji enables effortless, intuitive communication that helps users express themselves clearly. Koji understands seven different languages. The app also includes Social Stories for venues, providing visual and written previews to prepare users for visits to new places, which can reduce anxiety. Lastly, the app offers tools like an interactive feeling thermometer and visual cue cards to help individuals effectively communicate their emotions and needs to others. The app is available in both the iOS and Android app stores.
